The Council of Yukon First Nations was originally formed as the ‘Council for Yukon Indians’ in 1973 specifically to negotiate land claims. By 1980, in response to the need for unity among Yukon First Nations and the settlement of land claims, the two parent organizations, the Yukon Native Brotherhood and the Yukon Association of Non-Status Indians, as well as the CYI had amalgamated to form the Council for Yukon Indians. In 1995, the Council adopted a new constitution and in keeping with the language of the times, changed its name to the Council of Yukon First Nations.

The Council is formed under the Societies Act of the Yukon and operates under a constitution which has been adopted by its member First Nations at a General Assembly.

CYFN is made up of the following Yukon and Transboundary First Nations: 
Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, Teslin Tlingit Council, First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, Selkirk First Nation, Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation, Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation, Ta’an Kwäch’än Council, Kluane First Nation, Carcross/Tagish First Nation, Vuntut Gwitchin Government, and Taku River Tlingit First Nation.

At the Annual General Assembly in 2004, CYFN welcomed four First Nations from the Mackenzie River Delta region into its organization: the Tetlit Gwich’in Council, the Nihtat Gwich’in Council, the Ehdiitat Gwich’in Council and the Gwichya Gwich’in Council.

CYFN continues to welcome and encourage all Yukon First Nations to attend Leadership. CYFN’s practice of welcoming all Yukon and transboundary First Nations to engage in discussions at Leadership has led to increased participation among Yukon’s 14 First Nations in recent years.

The Council of Yukon First Nations have been in existence since 1973 and continue to serve the needs of First Nations within the Yukon and the MacKenzie delta.The Council of Yukon First Nations plays an important role in intergovernmental relations on behalf of Yukon First Nations as our mandate is to serve as a political advocacy organization for First Nations holding traditional territories, in the Yukon to protect their rights, titles and interests.