fnfaEleven Yukon First Nations have established Final Agreements to date. These include The First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun in Mayo, the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations in Haines Junction, the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation in Old Crow, the Teslin Tlingit Council in Teslin, the Little Salmon-Carmacks First Nation in Carmacks, the Selkirk First Nation in Pelly Crossing, the Kluane First Nation in Burwash Landing, the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council in Whitehorse, the Tr’ondek Hw’echin in Dawson City, the Kwanlin Dün First Nation in Whitehorse and the Carcross Tagish First Nation in Carcross.

Yukon First Nation Final Agreements are legal agreements made by the three orders of government including the federal government, the Government of the Yukon, and the individual Yukon First Nation. These agreements are constitutionally-protected and may only be amended with the consent of the three parties. They are often referred to as ‘modern-day treaties’. The Yukon First Nation Final Agreements contain all of the provisions of the Umbrella Final Agreement with the addition of ‘specific provisions’ which apply to the individual Yukon First Nation. The Final Agreements designate settlement lands and deal with matters of economy, wildlife, land and resource management, and other matters such as heritage.

For more information on how historic and modern Aboriginal treaties continue to shape the Canadian landscape, take a look at this book:


More info on ‘Keeping Promises’ [PDF]

You can find the Final Agreement for a particular nation by visiting their page:

View Nations